Washington Nationals

Since 1971 in Washington, D.C the Nationals is the eighth major league franchise. In 1969 the current franchise was founded as the Montreal Expos as part of a four-team development. After a failed tightening plan, the Expos were acquired by MLB, which required relocating the team to a new city. In 2004 Washington, D.C was chosen, and in 2005 the Nationals were established as the first MLB license transfer since the third Washington politicians moved to Texas in 1971.